skip navigation

2016 Fans' Choice USL Goal of the Year Final

By Staff, 02/06/17, 10:15AM EST


FC Cincinnati's Stevenson, FC Montreal's Sanon square off in the championship round

After the third week of voting, semifinal matchups have come to an end in the 2016 Fans’ Choice USL Goal of the Year competition and only two goals remain in the hunt for the top prize.

The final has come down to a clash between FC Cincinnati midfielder Eric Stevenson and FC Montreal midfielder Jimmy Sanon.

Stevenson’s upper-90 blast during FC Cincinnati’s inaugural playoff match charged past his teammate Andrew Wiedeman’s goal against Harrisburg in May.

Jimmy Sanon of FC Montreal also moves into the finals as his long-range stunner from September edged out Sean Okoli's scissor-kick goal for FC Cincinnati.

The 2016 Fans' Choice USL Goal of the Year bracket originally featured seven Goal of the Month winners and nine of the entries that generated the most support despite coming up short of the the monthly honor as decided entirely by fan votes on

Voting for the final round is now open and will continue through 9:00 AM ET on Monday, February 13.

2016 Fans' Choice Goal of the Year - Semifinal Results

Matchup 13:
1. Eric Stevenson (FC Cincinnati, Playoffs) – 63% def. 4. Andrew Wiedeman (FC Cincinnati, May) – 37%
Matchup 14:
3. Jimmy Sanon (FC Montreal, September) – 54% def. 2. Sean Okoli (FC Cincinnati, April) – 46%


Follow the USL Championship

Most Recent News

Most Read News

Latest Videos