skip navigation

USL Discipline Report – Week 21

By Staff, 08/16/17, 2:30PM EDT


TAMPA, Fla. – The following is the USL’s discipline report for Week 21 of the 2017 United Soccer League season:

Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2’s Myer Bevan has been handed a three-game suspension after receiving a red card for violent conduct against Seattle Sounders FC 2 on Aug. 13. Bevan will miss WFC2’s games between Aug. 19-27 against Rio Grande Valley FC, San Antonio FC and the LA Galaxy II.

Nine players have been suspended for one game after receiving red cards in their respective team’s games. Orlando City B’s Zach Carroll will serve his suspension on Wednesday night against Ottawa Fury FC, while the Portland Timbers 2’s Harold Hanson will serve a suspension on Thursday night as T2 hosts Seattle Sounders FC 2.

Both Amadou Dia and Doueugui Mala of Phoenix Rising FC will be suspended for Friday’s game against Orange County SC. Real Monarchs SLC’s Chase Minter will also serve his suspension on Friday as Real visits the Swope Park Rangers.

The Charleston Battery’s O’Brian Woodbine is suspended for Saturday’s game against the Rochester Rhinos, while Toronto FC II’s Julian Dun is suspended for Saturday’s game against the Richmond Kickers. The Tampa Bay Rowdies’ Damion Lowe is suspended for Saturday’s game with Ottawa Fury FC, and FC Cincinnati’s Sem de Wit will be suspended for FCC’s visit to the New York Red Bulls II on Saturday.

FC Cincinnati will also be without Kenney Walker on Saturday against the Red Bulls II after the midfielder received his fifth caution of the season. Four other players also received accumulation suspensions this week, with Bethlehem Steel FC’s Cory Burke suspended for Wednesday’s game against the Charlotte Independence.

Others to serve a one-game suspension are: the Charleston Battery’s Tah Brian Anunga for Saturday’s game against the Rochester Rhinos, San Antonio FC’s Ben Newnam for Saturday’s game against OKC Energy FC and the Harrisburg City Islanders James Thomas for Aug. 23’s game against Louisville City FC.

The Charlotte Independence’s Donnie Smith was handed a one-game suspension for his ejection against Toronto FC II on Aug. 9 and served his suspension on Aug. 12 against Ottawa Fury FC.

The New York Red Bulls II’s Dan Metzger, Rio Grande Valley FC’s Todd Wharton and Harrisburg City Islanders Abbas Mohamed are no longer on caution accumulation warning, having had one caution removed under the USL’s Good Behavior incentive to place all three on three cautions for the season.

The following 36 players enter their upcoming matches one caution away from a yellow card accumulation suspension. A fifth caution would result in a one-game suspension and undisclosed fine. Here is the breakdown per club:

  • Bethlehem Steel FC (3): Seku Conneh, Giliano Wijnaldum, Auston Trusty

  • Charleston Battery (2): Taylor Mueller, Romario Williams

  • Charlotte Independence (1): Enzo Martinez

  • Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC (2): Josh Phillips, Tae-Seong Kim

  • FC Cincinnati (1): Sem de Wit

  • Harrisburg City Islanders (1): Mouhamed Dabo

  • Louisville City FC (1): Paco Craig

  • New York Red Bulls II (1): David Abidor

  • OKC Energy FC (1): Coady Andrews

  • Orange County SC (1): Richard Chaplow

  • Orlando City B (2): Paul Clowes, Seb Hines

  • Phoenix Rising FC (4): Omar Bravo, JJ Greer, Didier Drogba, Shaun Wright-Phillips

  • Pittsburgh Riverhounds (1): Danny Earls

  • Portland Timbers 2 (1): Rennico Clarke

  • Real Monarchs SLC (1): Michael Gallagher

  • Reno 1868 FC (2): Jordan Murrell, Lindo Mfeka

  • Rochester Rhinos (1): Wal Fall

  • Sacramento Republic FC (3): Trevin Caesar, Chris Christian, Jeremy Hall

  • San Antonio FC (4): Sebastien Ibeagha, Cesar Elizondo, Mark O’Ojong, Kris Tyrpak

  • Swope Park Rangers (1): Liam Doyle

  • Tampa Bay Rowdies (1): Keith Savage

  • Tulsa Roughnecks FC (1): Jorge Luis Corrales

The following are one caution away from a yellow card accumulation suspension for receiving an eighth caution, which would result in a one-game suspension and undisclosed fine:

  • Orlando City B (1): Richie Laryea

  • San Antonio FC (1): Stephen McCarthy

  • Tampa Bay Rowdies (1): Damion Lowe

Follow the USL Championship

Most Recent News

Most Read News

Latest Videos