skip navigation

USL All-League Teams Announced

By usl admin, 10/26/15, 12:30PM EDT


USL News Release

Monday, October 26, 2015

TAMPA, Fla. – The United Soccer League announced today its 2015 USL All-League Teams, honoring the top performers from the 2015 USL Regular Season. The Rochester Rhinos led the way with three selections to the All-League First Team after claiming both the USL regular season title and 2015 USL Championship.

The 2015 USL All-League Team was voted on by team management and a league-wide media panel that included representation from every USL market.

The Rhinos’ selections were led by captain Tony Walls, who had an outstanding season in midfield as he led the team in minutes and also scored four goals and added two assists. The Rhinos’ record-setting defense was represented by Goalkeeper of the Year finalist Brandon Miller and center back Grant Van De Casteele, both of whom excelled as the Rhinos conceded a league-fewest 15 goals in the regular season.

The side Rochester defeated in the Eastern Conference Final of the 2015 USL Playoffs, Louisville City FC, was the only other club to earn multiple selections on the All-League First Team. Defender of the Year Finalist Bryan Burke, who led the league with 10 assists, and Most Valuable Player Finalist Matt Fondy, who set a new league record with 22 regular-season goals, both earned selection.

Six players earned repeat All-League selections, with LA Galaxy II defender Daniel Steres and Arizona United SC forward Long Tan both earning first- team selections. OKC Energy FC midfielder Gareth Evans and Charleston Battery forward Dane Kelly were also selected again, taking second-team honors, where they were joined by the Sacramento Republic FC duo of defender Nemanja Vukovic and midfielder Rodrigo Lopez.

The 2015 USL Awards will be announced throughout this week, commencing with the unveiling of the 2015 USL Goalkeeper of the Year later on Monday.

2015 USL All-League First Team
GK – Brandon Miller, Rochester Rhinos
D – Bryan Burke, Louisville City FC
D – Shawn Ferguson, Charleston Battery
D – Daniel Steres, LA Galaxy II
D – Grant Van De Casteele, Rochester Rhinos
MF – Luke Vercollone, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
MF – Rob Vincent, Pittsburgh Riverhounds
MF – Tony Walls, Rochester Rhinos
F – Matt Fondy, Louisville City FC
F – Danni König, OKC Energy FC
F – Long Tan, Arizona United SC

2015 USL All-League Second Team
GK – Odisnel Cooper, Charleston Battery
D – Mickey Daly, Sacramento Republic FC
D – Brenton Griffiths, Orange County Blues FC
D – Mechack Jerome, Charlotte Independence
D – Nemanja Vukovic, Sacramento Republic FC
MF – Gareth Evans, OKC Energy FC
MF – Kevin Kerr, Pittsburgh Riverhounds
MF – Rodrigo Lopez, Sacramento Republic FC
F – Kharlton Belmar, Portland Timbers 2
F – Dane Kelly, Charleston Battery
F – Jason Yeisley, Richmond Kickers

2015 USL Awards
Goalkeeper of the Year – Monday, Oct. 26
Defender of the Year – Tuesday, Oct. 27
Coach of the Year – Wednesday, Oct. 28
Rookie of the Year – Thursday, Oct. 29
Most Valuable Player – Friday, Oct. 30

Latest Videos