skip navigation

Concacaf Gold Cup Beckons for USL Standouts

By Staff, 05/20/19, 1:09PM EDT


Independence’s Gutman among 38 players included on provisional rosters for tournament

Charlotte Independence defender Andrew Gutman is the first active USL Championship player to be selected by the United States Men's National Team in the league's history. | Photo courtesy TJ Sallah / Hartford Athletic

MIAMI – Thirty-eight players that have featured in the USL Championship and USL League One this season are one step closer to representing their nations at the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup as the federation released the provisional rosters for this summer’s tournament on Monday morning.

Among the selections is the Charlotte Independence’s Andrew Gutman, named in the United States’ 40-man roster by Head Coach Gregg Berhalter. Gutman’s selection marks the first time a player currently active in the Championship has been called up to the United States Men’s National Team.

Gutman – who earned the 2018 MAC Hermann Trophy at Indiana University – has spent his first professional season on loan with the Independence from legendary Scottish club Celtic FC, making 11 appearances and recording two goals and one assists so far this season.

Overall, 17 different Championship clubs and three from League One had players named, with OKC Energy FC leading the group with five selections across the Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago squads.

Eleven players included in the Soca Warriors’ squad currently compete in the Championship or League One, with Energy FC’s Cordell Cato, Mekeil Williams and Alvin Jones being joined by the Memphis 901 FC trio of Triston Hodge, Leston Paul and Duane Muckette and the Charleston Battery duo of Ataulla Guerra and Leland Archer.

Championship players also feature prominently in Jamaica’s squad, with Louisville City FC’s Speedy Williams and Shaun Francis included alongside Phoenix Rising FC’s Junior Flemmings and Kevon Lambert, Rio Grande Valley FC’s Maalique Foster and New York Red Bulls II defender Jordan Scarlett.

North Texas SC’s Ronaldo Damus and Bicou Bissainthe are among four selections from League One clubs, with the Haitian duo joined by the experience of El Paso Locomotive FC’s Mechack Jerome and Ottawa Fury FC’s Christiano Francois in the provisional squad for Les Grenadiers.

Other notable names include the Charleston Battery’s Zeiko Lewis, who is expected to lead Bermuda into its first Gold Cup, and Saint Louis FC’s Joaquin Rivas, who was again named in El Salvador’s squad after featuring regularly for the country in Concacaf Nations League qualifying.

A further 26 league alumni were also named in their respective league’s provisional rosters, with players such as former USL Cup-winners Tyler Adams and Aaron Long named to the United States roster, 2018 USL Championship Goalkeeper of the Year Maxime Crepeau selected alongside fellow league alumni like Alphonso Davies and Mark-Anthony Kaye in Canada’s squad, and both former Louisville City FC goalkeeper Greg Ranjitsingh and two-time Championship MVP Kevin Molino selected by Trinidad & Tobago.

The 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup kicks off on Saturday, June 15 with the field of 16 teams the most in the tournament’s history.

2019 Concacaf Gold Cup Provisional Rosters

Bermuda (1) – Zeiko Lewis (CHS)

Canada (1) – Noble Okello (TOR)

Curacao (1) – Michael Maria (CLT)

Guyana (1) – Jordan Dover (PIT)

Haiti (8) – Zach Herivaux (BHM), Mechack Jerome (ELP), Jems Geffrard (FRS), Christiano Francois Jr. (OTT), Derrick Etienne Jr. (NY), Bicou Bissainthe (NTX), Ronaldo Damus (NTX), Denso Ulysse (TAC)

Jamaica (11) – Junior Flemmings (PHX), Maalique Foster (RGV), Shaun Francis (LOU), Omar Gordon (OKC), Kevon Lambert (PHX), Jordan Scarlett (NY), Jamoi Topey (BST), Je-Vaughn Watson (OKC), Speedy Williams (LOU), Romario Williams (ATL), Rawshawn Dally, (MEM)

Panama (1) – Ernesto Walker (LA)

El Salvador (2) – Joaquin Rivas (STL), Juan Barahona (SAC)

Trinidad & Tobago (11) – Leland Archer (CHS), Cordell Cato (OKC), Kevan Georgia (CLT), Ataulla Guerra (CHS), Neveal Hackshaw (IND), Triston Hodge (MEM), Alvin Jones (OKC), Nathan Lewis (LAN), Duane Muckette (MEM), Leston Paul (MEM), Mekeil Williams (OKC)

United States (1) – Andrew Gutman (CLT)

Latest News