Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
Teams, Executives Honored at USL AGM
Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner Highlights Annual Celebration

USL News Release

Friday, December 14, 2012

CLEARWATER, Fla. – USL took time out from its 2012 AGM tonight to honor its outstanding teams and individuals at the USL Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner at the Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa.

The evening opened with speeches from USL President Tim Holt and Maren Fawcett of Nike. It continued with a 2012 season highlights video presentation, followed by the induction of 10 new members into the USL Men’s, Women’s and MISL Hall of Fame wings. The PDL’s BYU Cougars, Fresno Fuego and West Virginia Chaos were also honored as 10+ Clubs after having completed 10 seasons in the league.

Inductees included: Laurie Calloway (Men’s HOF, Coach), Nino DePasquali of the New York Magic (Women’s HOF, Coach), Earl Foreman (MISL HOF, Builder), Hector Marinaro (MISL HOF, Player), Charlie Naimo of the Pali Blues (Women’s HOF, Coach), Ron Newman (MISL HOF, Coach), John Pugh of the Ottawa Fury (Women’s HOF, Builder), Bill Rudisill of the Wilmington Hammerheads (Men’s HOF, Builder), Dustin Swinehart of the Charlotte Eagles (Men’s HOF, Player), and Slavisa “Steve” Zungul (MISL HOF, Player).

Finally, USL also honored its clubs and teams for their success on and off the field, honoring the Super Y-League and Super-20 League First 11 and rewarding excellence in USL PRO, the W-League and the PDL.

USL Organizational & Executive Honors

Regular Season Champions:
Orlando City
Fair Play: Charlotte Eagles
Marketing: Richmond Kickers
Media: Los Angeles Blues
Betsy McAdams Key Grip Award: Alex Wolf, Orlando City
Executive of the Year: Phil Rawlins, Orlando City
Progress Award: Wilmington Hammerheads
Organization of the Year: Rochester Rhinos

Regular Season Champions: Michigan Bucks
Fair Play: Vancouver Whitecaps FC U-23s
Marketing: Austin Aztex
Media: Baltimore Bohemians
Betsy McAdams Key Grip Award: Ric Granryd, Austin Aztex
Executive of the Year: Scott Zapko, Carolina Dynamo
Rookie Franchise of the Year: FC Tucson
Progress Award: Sounders FC U23
Organization of the Year: Forest City London

Regular Season Champions: Pali Blues, D.C. United Women
Fair Play: D.C. United Women, New Jersey Rangers, New Jersey Wildcats
Marketing: Seattle Sounders Women
Media: D.C. United Women
Betsy McAdams Key Grip Award: Melanie Rutherford, Ottawa Fury
Executive of the Year: Charlie Naimo, Pali Blues
Rookie Franchise of the Year: Central S.C. Cobras
Progress Award: Quebec City Amiral
Organization of the Year: Seattle Sounders Women

Copyright 2012 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2012 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.
Youth Sports WebWriter Websites, Online Registration Management, Tournament and League Scheduling Systems