Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
Teams, Executives Honored at AGM
Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner Highlights Annual Celebration

USL News Release

Friday, December 16, 2011

TAMPA, Fla. – United Soccer Leagues took time out from its 2011 AGM tonight to honor its outstanding teams and individuals at the USL Hall of Fame and Awards Dinner at the Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa.

The evening opened with speeches from USL CEO Alec Papadakis, Umbro USA’s Jerry Alleco and USL President Tim Holt. It continued with a 2011 season highlights video presentation, followed by the induction of nine new members into the USL Hall of Fame, which has been divided into Men’s, Women’s and MISL wings.

Inductees included: Kyle Krause of the Des Moines Menace (Men’s HOF, Builder), David Irving of the Wilmington Hammerheads (Men’s HOF, Coach), Tim Schweitzer of the Northern Virginia Majestics (Women’s HOF, Builder), Lee Horton of the Charlotte Lady Eagles (Women’s HOF, Coach), Florence Omagbemi of the Hampton Roads Piranhas (Women’s HOF, Player), Christine Sinclair of the Vancouver Breakers and Vancouver Whitecaps Women (Women’s HOF, Player), Edwin Hale Sr. of the Baltimore Blast (MISL HOF, Builder), Keith Tozer of the Milwaukee Wave (MISL HOF, Coach), and Tatu of the Dallas Sidekicks and Wichita Wings (MISL HOF, Player).

Finally, USL also honored its clubs and teams for their success on and off the field, honoring the Super Y-League and Super-20 League First 11 and rewarding excellence in USL PRO, the W-League and the PDL.

USL Organizational & Executive Honors

Regular Season Champions:
Orlando City
Fair Play: Charlotte Eagles
Marketing: Orlando City
Communications: Harrisburg City Islanders
Betsy McAdams Key Grip Award: Whitney Woods, Charleston Battery
Executive of the Year: Bill Rudisill, Wilmington Hammerheads
Rookie Franchise of the Year: Wilmington Hammerheads
USL Progress Award: Pittsburgh Riverhounds
Organization of the Year: Orlando City

Regular Season Champions:
Fresno Fuego
Fair Play: Mississippi Brilla
Marketing: Fresno Fuego
Communications: Reading United AC
Betsy McAdams Key Grip Award: Adam Small, Des Moines Menace
Executive of the Year: John Marrello, Thunder Bay Chill
Rookie Franchise of the Year: Hamilton FC
USL Progress Award: Victoria Highlanders
Organization of the Year: Fresno Fuego

Regular Season Champions:
Ottawa Fury
Fair Play: Dayton Dutch Lions; Long Island Rough Riders
Marketing: Vancouver Whitecaps
Communications: Santa Clarita Blue Heat
Betsy McAdams Key Grip Award: Rachel Singer, Santa Clarita Blue Heat
Executive of the Year: Tim Schweitzer, Northern Virginia Majestics & D.C. United Women
Rookie Franchise of the Year: D.C. United Women
USL Progress Award: Santa Clarita Blue Heat
Organization of the Year: Ottawa Fury

Copyright 2011 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2011 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.
Youth Sports WebWriter Websites, Online Registration Management, Tournament and League Scheduling Systems