Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
Share | |
2010 USL 10+ Clubs Announced
6 organizations to be honored at Hall of Fame Awards Banquet

USL Press Release

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

TAMPA, Fla. – United Soccer Leagues announced today that six teams will be honored as 10+Clubs during the Hall of Fame Awards Banquet at the USL Annual General Meeting this Friday, November 19 in Tampa, Florida. The Chicago Fire (PDL), Orange County Blue Star (PDL), Pittsburgh Riverhounds (USL PRO), Seattle Sounders (W-League), Southern California Seahorses (PDL) and Vancouver Whitecaps (W-League) will be recognized for completing 10 years of competition.

Three individuals have also been announced as 2010 inductees into the USL Hall of Fame, with the late Betsy McAdams (Builder), Bob Lilley (Coach) and Doug Miller (Player) set to be honored in Tampa.

Chicago Fire (PDL)

Founded in 2001, the Fire have enjoyed amazing levels of success in the PDL, capturing seven division titles in 10 seasons of existence. A title has eluded the Fire as of yet, as the squad came up short after advancing to both the 2003 and 2009 championships. The Fire are tough to beat in the regular season, amassing a 124-24-22 record.

Orange County Blue Star (PDL)

Orange County played its first PDL season in 2001 and has gone on to win three division titles in 10 seasons. The club has enjoyed a winning tradition on the field, but it is also well known for the talent it has developed. Stars such as Sacha Kljestan, Sal Zizzo, Kamani Hill, Brad Evans, Robbie Rogers, Kei Kamara, and Jürgen Klinsmann have all suited up for the Blue Star.

Pittsburgh Riverhounds (USL PRO)

Founded in 1999 as part of the A-League, the Riverhounds are always a tough opponent. In 2004 they suffered only two losses and captured the Pro League Atlantic Division title, making a deep playoff run. The Riverhounds joined USL PRO in 2010 and look to build on their past tradition.

Seattle Sounders (W-League)

Founded in 2001, Seattle has been a stalwart among the W-League’s Western Conference teams. The Sounders have earned a trip to the playoffs in six of their 10 seasons, making it to the final four on five occasions. Seattle has also featured the likes of current and former U.S. National Team standouts Tina Ellertson, Justi Baumgardt-Yamada and Michelle French.

Southern California Seahorses (PDL)

The Seahorses made their PDL debut during the 2001 season and instantly started one of the league’s top rivalries with their neighbors, the Orange County Blue Star. The Seahorses have enjoyed several playoff appearances and took home the 2006 Southwest Division title.

Vancouver Whitecaps (W-League)

Since joining the W-League in 2001, the Whitecaps have been one of the most successful teams in league history. Vancouver has won three W-League Championships and seven division titles, and has reached the finals five times. Vancouver has also been a hotbed of talent with many internationals playing for the side.

Copyright 2011 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2011 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.