Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
Share | |
2010 PDL Honors Announced
Winners Named at Championship Awards Ceremony in Portland

USL Press Release

August 6, 2010

TAMPA, Fla. – United Soccer Leagues announced the Premier Development League honors for the 2010 season, naming the Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Defender of the Year, Coach of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year.  The awards were presented at Friday’s Awards Ceremony at the 2010 PDL Championship in Portland, Oregon. Voting was conducted by PDL coaches and general managers.

Most Valuable Player & Rookie of the Year – Brent Richards, Portland Timbers U23s

A former Washington State high school player of the year and current standout at the University of Washington, Richards tallied 14 goals and 30 points in only 12 games for the undefeated Timbers U23s in 2010, earning him both the MVP and Rookie of the Year awards. Richards got the MVP nod over league scoring leader Brandon Swartzendruber from the Thunder Bay Chill, another member of the PDL Final Four. New Jersey Rangers standout forward Dominic Reinold finished just behind Richards in rookie voting.

Defender of the Year – Joe Tait, Baton Rouge Capitals

Yet another member of the 2010 PDL Final Four, Tait accounted for an impressive six goals and an assist in 12 games for the Capitals, who captured the Southern Conference title to advance to this weekend’s championship. A teammate of Mississippi Brilla sniper and PDL MVP Finalist Moses Aduny at Lindsey Wilson College in Kentucky, Tait hails from Hartlepool, England.

Coach of the Year – Jim Rilatt, Portland Timbers U23s

How could anyone vote against the season Rilatt has produced in Portland? Playing in the ultra-competitive Northwest Division, Rilatt led the Timbers to a perfect 16-0-0 mark, becoming the first unbeaten and untied PDL team since the 1998 Jackson Chargers. Also an assistant for the professional Timbers, Rilatt is hoping to finish the weekend as the coach of the first undefeated champion in league history.

Goalkeeper of the Year – Ryan Meara, Ironbound Express

Meara was named to the PDL All-League Team after recording an impressive eight shutout wins in only 12 games played. The Express used Meara’s solid play to post a 10-3-3 regular season record before bowing out against Ottawa in the conference semis. Meara ranked fourth in the league in goals-against average at 0.666 and only Ottawa’s Andrew Murphy had more shutouts.

Votes for the Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year awards are submitted by PDL team management. Rookie of the Year finalists are determined by All-Conference voting, while the Defender of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year are chosen based on total All-Conference votes.

İ Copyright 2010 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
İ Copyright 2010 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.