Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
Share | |
US Open Cup pairings unveiled
First Round contests set for 2009 tournament

US Soccer / USL News Release

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

CHICAGO, IL -- U.S. Soccer has announced the groupings for the first two rounds of the 2009 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup which will kick off with First Round matches on Tuesday, June 9 around the country.

Charleston reached the US Open Cup Final last year (Vin Duffy)

All 32 lower division teams will enter the tournament in the first round and have been grouped geographically into eight groups of four teams. The first-round match ups were drawn randomly within the four-team groups, although match ups between teams in the same division were avoided when possible.

The two winners from each group will face off in the second round on June 16, with the winners then advancing to the third round to face the eight qualified Major League Soccer teams. The quarterfinals will be played July 7, the semifinals will be played July 21 or 22, and the final will be played on Sept. 2.

Last year, the USL First Division's Seattle Sounders and Charleston Battery met in the Semifinal Round with the Battery moving on to narrowly fall 2-1 in the US Open Cup Final to DC United.

Of the 16 amateur division teams representing the U.S. Adult Soccer Association and the Premier Development League, only two are returning for their second consecutive U.S. Open Cup, with the St. Louis Lions (PDL) and the Arizona Sahuaros (USASA) in the field for a second straight year. The Sahuaros have qualified for three of the last four U.S. Open Cups, the best record of any amateur team during that span.

Within the U.S. Open Cup framework, teams compete in one of the following four categories: professional outdoor Division I (Major League Soccer), Division II (USL First Division) or Division III (USL Second Division); or Amateur Division (USL Premier Development League & U.S. Adult Soccer Association).


USL-1 Teams: Austin Aztex, Carolina RailHawks, Charleston Battery, Cleveland City Stars, Miami FC Blues, Minnesota Thunder, Portland Timbers, Rochester Rhinos
USL-2 Teams: Charlotte Eagles, Crystal Palace Baltimore, Harrisburg City Islanders, Pittsburgh Riverhounds, Real Maryland Monarchs, Richmond Kickers, Western Mass Pioneers, Wilmington Hammerheads
PDL Teams: Chicago Fire, El Paso Patriots, Kitsap Pumas, Mississippi Brilla, Ocean City Barons, Orange County Blue Star, Reading Rage, St Louis Lions

Overall, 120 amateur division teams nationwide participated in qualifying for the 2009 U.S. Open Cup, with 16 teams advancing to the tournament. The 16 teams in the USL First Division and USL Second Division based in the U.S. qualified automatically. Major League Soccer’s top six teams from the 2008 standings qualified, while D.C. United and the Seattle Sounders won their respective play-in games to complete the field of 40.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, which is recognized as U.S. Soccer’s National Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The tournament has crowned a champion for 95 consecutive years dating back to 1914.

The U.S. Open Cup is a single-elimination tournament, with games tied after regulation being decided in two 15-minute overtime halves. If the score is still tied after overtime, the winner is decided in a penalty kick shootout. The team that advances the furthest from each level except Division I will earn a $10,000 cash prize. The runner-up will take home $50,000, while the champion will collect $100,000. The winner also will have the team’s name engraved on the historic Dewar Challenge Trophy, the oldest trophy in American team sports that is housed in the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Oneonta, N.Y.

No. -- Date -- Match -- Venue -- Time (local)

1 -- June 9 -- Reading Rage (PDL) at Harrisburg City Islanders (USL2)
Skyline Sports Complex; Harrisburg, Pa. -- 7:05 p.m. ET

2 -- June 9 -- Emigrantes Das Ilhas (USASA-Mass.) at Western Mass Pioneers (USL2)
Lusitano Stadium; Ludlow, Mass. -- 7:00 p.m. ET

3 -- June 9 -- Crystal Palace Baltimore (USL2) at Ocean City Barons (PDL)
Carey Stadium; Ocean City, N.J. -- 7 p.m. ET

4 -- June 9 -- Aegean Hawks FC (USASA-Va.) at Real Maryland FC (USL2)
Richard Montgomery H.S.; Rockville, Md. -- 6 p.m. ET

5 -- June 9 -- Richmond Kickers (USL2) at Carolina RailHawks (USL1)
WakeMed Soccer Park; Cary, N.C. -- 7 p.m. ET

6 -- June 9 -- Charlotte Eagles (USL2) at Wilmington Hammerheads (USL2)
Legion Stadium; Wilmington, N.C. -- 7 p.m. ET

7 -- June 9 -- Atlanta FC (USASA-Ga.) at Charleston Battery (USL1)
Blackbaud Stadium; Charleston, S.C. -- 7:30 p.m. ET

8 -- June 9 -- Lynch’s FC (USASA-Fla.) at Miami FC (USL1)
Tropical Park; Miami, Fla. -- 8 p.m. ET

9 -- June 9 -- St. Louis Lions (PDL) at Cleveland City Stars (USL1)
Middlefield Cheese Stadium; Bedford, Ohio -- 7 p.m. ET

10 -- June 9 -- Pittsburgh Riverhounds (USL2) at Rochester Rhinos (USL1)
Rochester Rhinos Stadium; Rochester, N.Y. -- 7 p.m. ET

11 -- June 9 -- 402 (USASA-Neb.) at Minnesota Thunder (USL1)
National Sports Center; Blaine, Minn. -- 7:05 p.m. ET

12 -- June 9 -- Milwaukee Bavarians (USASA-Wis.) at Chicago Fire PDL (PDL)
Toyota Park Practice Field; Bridgeview, Ill. -- 5 p.m. CT

13 -- June 9 -- Arizona Sahuaros (USASA-Ariz.) at El Paso Patriots (PDL)
Patriot Stadium; El Paso, Texas -- 8 p.m. MT

14 -- June 9 -- Mississippi Brilla FC (PDL) at Austin Aztex (USL1)
Nelson Field; Austin, Texas -- 7:30 p.m. CT

15 -- June 9 -- Portland Timbers (USL1) at Kitsap Pumas (PDL)
Bremerton Memorial H.S.; Bremerton, Wash. -- 7 p.m. PT

16 -- June 9 -- Sonoma County Sol (USASA-Calif.) at Orange County Blue Star (PDL)
Concordia University; Irvine, Calif. -- 2 p.m. PT

Second Round
No. -- Date -- Match
17 -- June 16 -- Winner 1 vs. Winner 2
18 -- June 16 -- Winner 3 vs. Winner 4
18 -- June 16 -- Winner 5 vs. Winner 6
20 -- June 16 -- Winner 7 vs. Winner 8
21 -- June 16 -- Winner 9 vs. Winner 10
22 -- June 16 -- Winner 11 vs. Winner 12
23 -- June 16 -- Winner 13 vs. Winner 14
24 -- June 16 -- Winner 15 vs. Winner 16

Future Dates
Date -- Round -- Notes
June 30 -- Third Round -- Round 2 winners face eight MLS teams
July 7 -- Quarterfinals -- Round 3 winners
July 21/22 -- Semifinals -- Quarterfinal winners
Sept. 2 -- Final -- Semifinal winners


Copyright 2010 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2010 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.