Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
Share | |
NSCAA concludes college honors
All Four Men’s Players of the Year are PDL alum

USL News Release

Friday, January 9, 2009

TAMPA, FL – The National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) announced the final awards for the 2008 collegiate season Friday evening in St Louis with the unveiling of the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy honorees. The winners capped an award season that saw USL Premier Development League players earn the four NSCAA Men’s Players of the Year awards while 88 USL players received All-American honors in the men’s and women’s game.

Tracy’s Carolina Dynamo season was cut short by injury (Carlos Morales)The Carolina Dynamo’s Marcus Tracy was named the winner of the Men’s MAC Hermann Trophy out of a group of three PDL alumni that also included the Cleveland International’s Steve Zakuani and Tracy’s Dynamo and Wake Forest teammate Sam Cronin. The Carolina RailHawks’ Casey Nogueira finished second for the Women’s honor behind Kerri Hanks.

Tracy’s award highlighted a comeback from injury after having a brief stint with the Dynamo. Having arrived late in the season following a trip to Brazil with Wake Forest, the striker played in three games and had one goal prior to breaking his arm and missing the rest of the PDL campaign.

Tracy caps a group of four PDL players who swept the Player of the Year honors, joining Chicago Fire defender JD Binger (Messiah College, DIII) and the Los Angeles Legends duo of junior defender Kevin Gallaugher (Cal State Dominguez Hills, DII) and junior midfielder Eric Winblad (Azusa Pacific, NAIA).

The foursome were among 55 PDL players honored for the 2008 college season as NSCAA All Americans, 10 of whom were among the 15 semifinalists for the MAC Hermann Trophy.

On the women’s side, Nogueira was among a list of 33 W-League players that received NSCAA All-American honors for the 2008 collegiate campaign. Eight were semifinalists for the MAC Hermann Trophy.

PDL :: NSCAA All Americans [+]             W-League :: NSCAA All Americans [+]

All National Players of the Year will be recognized at the annual All-America Luncheon, to be held in St. Louis, Mo., on Saturday, Jan. 17, as part of the 2009 NSCAA Convention.

Related News :: Four PDL youth sign with MLS [+]

USL’s Marcos to appear on FSC’s Center Circle at NSCAA Convention

USL founder and President Francisco Marcos will appear for the third consecutive year on Fox Soccer Channel’s live, two-hour show, Center Circle Live, from the annual National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Convention. From 8-10:00 p.m. ET on Thursday, January 15, Center Circle Live will feature a distinguished panel of guests in St. Louis, Mo., for a discussion on the future of soccer in the United States. Moderated by Fox Soccer Channel’s Max Bretos, the program will also feature network personalities Christopher Sullivan and Mark Rogondino as well as Fox Soccer Report’s Bobby McMahon.

© Copyright 2010 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
© Copyright 2010 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.