Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
Share | |
Albuquerque Geckos
10+ Club - Inaugural Class of 2002

(Albuquerque Outlaws, Albuquerque Gunners, New Mexico Roadrunners and New Mexico Chiles)

The Albuquerque franchise was one of the original members of the Southwest Indoor Soccer League in 1986. After playing the 1986-87 season as the Outlaws, the club switched its name to the Gunners. As the Gunners, the club reached the postseason indoors in 1988 and was one of the original clubs to play in outdoors in 1989. After the 1990 outdoor season, the club became the New Mexico Roadrunners, a name that only survived the 90-91 indoor season before being changed to New Mexico Chiles for the 1991 outdoor season. The franchise discontinued playing indoors. The Chiles reached the postseason three times in the next six years, falling in the league final in 1991 to the Richardson Rockets. In 1995, the club moved up to the Pro League (Third Division) and made another jump the following year to the Select League (Third Division). The stayed at the third division level with the addition of the A-League in 1997 as a member of the D3 Pro League. The club was reborn as the Albuquerque Geckos that year and saw its best season in club history. The Geckos claimed the league championship, downing the visiting Charlotte Eagles 4-1, after a 15-3 season. Albuquerque moved up to the A-League the following year, but was unable to conjure similar success. After one season, the club was purchased and moved to Sacramento, where it would ultimately be operated by the league for the majority of the year before ceasing operations at the end of the 1999 season. The club was founded by Al Valentine and later owned and operated by Joe Shealy, who brought together the Roadrunners and the former APSL New Mexico Chiles side.

Copyright 2010 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2010 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.