Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
Share | |
USL announces Hall of Fame inductees
Annual General Meeting also featured league awards
USL News Release
Sunday, October 30, 2005
TAMPA, FL -- United Soccer Leagues held the 2005 USL Hall of Fame induction at its Annual General Meeting Sunday evening at the Grand Hyatt, honoring 11 valued members of the USL family as Builders and nine franchises as members of the 10+ Club. The league also announced their annual season awards at the Hall of Fame Awards Banquet.

USL Hall of Fame Class of 2005


Vincent Baldino
New Jersey Wildcats, 1996-present
One of the original owners of the Wildcats, Baldino has overseen his club’s turnaround over the past few years that culminated in two straight finals appearances and the 2005 W-League championship.

Jim DeDeus
New Hampshire Phantoms, 1996-present
DeDeus is one of the founding owners of the Phantoms, who have been a staple in the USL Second Division since the club’s inception. DeDeus has also served on the league’s Executive Committee. Under his guidance, the team has finished .500 or better eight times in 10 years.
Steve Donner, Frank DuRoss & Chris Economides
Rochester Raging Rhinos, 1996-present
The Rhinos ownership trio founded the team in the then independent A-League and quickly turned the franchise into a juggernaut in the minor league sports industry. The club was a league-leader in attendance from 1996-2004 and was named one of the Top Five Minor League Sports Franchises by Street & Smith’s Sports Business Journal. Their success at the gate is matched by the teams’ three league titles and the 1999 US Open Cup title in which they defeated three MLS teams en route to the historic championship.

Jim & Dan Duggan
Michigan Bucks, 1996-present
The Duggan brothers have been a mainstay in the Michigan soccer world, beginning with their involvement in the 1994 FIFA World Cup in Detroit. The pair founded the Bucks, then known as Mid Michigan, in 1996 and have gone on to build one of the most storied amateur franchises in the nation by virtue of their success in the Lamar Hunt US Open Cup, which included the first ever amateur win over an MLS side in 2000. Jim Duggan has also been a long-time member of the PDL Executive Committee.
Chris & Stephanie Keenan
Kalamazoo Kingdom, 1996-present
The Keenans helped found the team and have gone on to make the Kingdom more than just the local soccer team, opening an indoor center for the community as well. They have also had a heavy hand in the development of the youth program in the area. The club hosted the 1998 PDL championship tournament.

Cookie Ketcham & Bobby Lennon
Richmond Kickers, 1993-96 – Palm Beach Pumas, 2000-present
Ketcham and Lennon founded the Kickers in 1993 and helped lead the team to the ‘Double,’ winning the PDL and US Open Cup titles in 1995. The pair sold the franchise after the 1996 season but returned in 2000 in Palm Beach, where they started the Pumas.

Jill McCabe
Rochester Ravens, 1996-present
One of the founding owners of the team, McCabe’s Ravens were one of the top teams in the early years, playing host to the W-League championship in 1997. McCabe also served on the league’s Executive Committee.

Shawn McDonald
Virginia Beach Mariners, 1994-96, 98-00, 02-present
McDonald began with the Hampton Roads Hurricanes in 1994 as assistant coach, and was named general manager of the newly-named Mariners the following year. McDonald has been a mainstay of the franchise since that point despite several ownership changes.

10+ Clubs

Boston Renegades 
Kalamazoo Kingdom 
Michigan Bucks 
New Hampshire Phantoms
New Jersey Wildcats 
Reading Rage
Rochester Raging Rhinos 
Rochester Ravens 
Wilmington Hammerheads
In honor of the 20th Anniversary, USL will be doing a special induction of representatives from the organization’s early indoor years at a later date in place of the Coaches and Players inductions. 

USL Season Awards

Clubs and individuals were honored at the USL Awards Reception in each league for Executive of the Year, Organization of the Year, Referee of the Year, Fair Play and Marketing Excellence. Additional awards handed out were the Key Grip and Progress Awards.

The Rochester Raging Rhinos, Harrisburg City Islanders, BYU Cougars and New Jersey Wildcats were honored as the Organizations of the Year with Paul Sterbenz (Richmond Kickers), Rick Andre (Western Mass Pioneers), Mark Geissbauer (Cascade Surge) and Lisa Rosson-Medina (Mile High Mustangs) being recognized as the Executives of the Year.

The Montreal Impact, Wilmington Hammerheads, El Paso Patriots and Central Florida Krush were given the Marketing Excellence Award while the Vancouver Whitecaps, Charlotte Eagles, Cascade Surge and Rochester Ravens received Fair Play Awards.

Joe Caroccio, Jorge Gonzalez, Colin Tait and Sandra Serafini were named the Referees of the Year.

Southern California Seahorses Director of Operations Matt Morse was honored with the Key Grip Award, recognizing his tireless efforts behind the scenes. The Ocean City Barons were presented the Progress Award.

The Cincinnati Kings were honored with the Franchise Rookie of the Year Award.

Saturday, New Orleans Shell Shockers President Gary Ostroske was honored as the recipient of the Archie Moylan Award, which was established in memory of Paul ‘Archie’ Moylan to recognize a member of the USL family who has shown great courage or outstanding humanitarianism.

Ostroske's Shell Shockers were devastated by Hurricane Katrina, flooding the field and trapping Ostroske's family as well as team staff and players.

After venturing out of their flooded neighborhood to dry ground, Ostroske quickly got back to work as the President of the New Orleans chapter of the United Way to aid in the recovery efforts after the storm. His dedication to his work with the United Way leaves little time for family and friends. He has worked with the United Way for over 20 years and has been instrumental in a number of outstanding projects that have garnered recognition by the city in the past. 
Super Y-League Manager of Operations Dan Esmond was honored as the USL Employee of the Year. Esmond joined USL in 2001 in public relations and moved to the SYL department in 2004.
© Copyright 2010 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
© Copyright 2010 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.